Pizza Time

Homemade Vegetarian Pizza

A lot of people view pizza as being an unhealthy meal option. But in fact, it can actually be a very simple way to pile in loads of nutritious veggies! In addition, it can be prepared quite quickly. Store bought pizzas can be unhealthy, especially the ones with a thicker crust. This is why I choose to buy my own pizza dough (You can even find it in whole wheat if you like) and prepare my own pizza. I don’t bother making my own dough because that takes too much time so I buy it already prepared. 

pizza2cooked

In an effort to try and eat more vegetables, this has been a go-to for me. It’s an easy way for me to eat a lot of variety. Tonight I made two pizzas, each with different toppings. On one pizza I put olives, peppers, onions, garlic, mushrooms, spinach, pesto, tomato sauce and feta, herbs de provence and on the other I put mushrooms,garlic, onions, spinach, feta, pesto, tomato sauce, oregano and basil. Both were delicious and both prepared very quickly! I purchased the tomato sauce, which was made locally with no preservatives. It is easy to find a healthy and inexpensive pizza tomato sauce in your grocery stores.  

pizza1cooked

You can make any pizza look really nice depending on the types of toppings. In fact, a homemade pizza with some tomatoes, bocconcini and basil pesto could be served beautifully at a lunch party. Another versatile recipe, which can make use of a lot of leftovers such as, chicken strips, bocconcini, arugula, tomatoes, etc.

As for cook time, follow the instructions on your purchased dough. 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Pizza Time

  1. I know, homemade pizza just like you do (store bought dough and tomato sauce) has become my go to Friday evening treat for the family – little effort for happy food! 🙂

Leave a comment